Christmas

2016: The year it didn’t feel like Christmas

img_7579-copy

I’m writing this post right after packing up our Christmas tree and decorations. There was a lot of stuff to put away. There were baubles and tinsel and lights and little ceramic ornaments you put on the mantel…and it all felt like it lasted 5 minutes. I don’t know what happened this year but the Christmas season has just flown by in the blink of an eye and I feel I didn’t get as much out of it as other years. I had so many plans to make mince pies and gluten free Christmas treats and organize all my Christmas-related belongings…and somehow it is all back inside a big box until the end of this new year.

I still can’t get my head around how we’re already in 2017. I hadn’t even thought about my new years resolutions when the 12 o’clock bells started chiming. But if there’s something I plan to do this new year, that is to promise myself that 2017’s Christmas season will be a BIG one. We’ll put up the tree a little early (maybe even buy a bigger one), get a head start on Christmas shopping and make sure we cook up a storm in the kitchen. I’ve already purchased a copy of Jamie Oliver’s new book (not sponsored) and plan to put it to good use.

Other than that, my resolutions for this year are pretty straightforward. I tend to analyze each area of my life (faith, family, friends, work, health, money…) at the beginning of each year and decide what I need to improve, but this year instead of promising to go to the gym and lose 5kg (as I do every January), my main resolution is to just enjoy life. To not stress over the little things and create new memories with the little time we have.

What have YOU promised to do this 2017?

Sam xx 

Responder

